Although there are some laws at the federal level that apply to cars purchased in every state of the nation, there are more specific laws that apply to those people living in the state of California. If you live in this state and have bought a car that you have had many problems with, you may be entitled to a legal remedy under California Lemon Law. The following are a few things you should know.
The state of California has a definition of a lemon
California Lemon Law includes a presumption, and it is well defined. If your car is less than 18 months old or you have less than 18,000 miles on the car, it may qualify. This also includes a leased car. However, a lemon is further defined as a car that has needed four repairs for the same issue. Although, if the issue relates to safety, only two repairs are needed. If this has happened to your car, you need to contact an attorney.
There is an exception to the definition
If your car is beyond the defined time limit or is beyond the defined mileage, there is a good chance that your car may qualify as a lemon if it is under warranty. This warranty may be one included by the dealer, one that you purchased from the dealer, or it was a warranty that was one the original owner had on the car and is still in effect.
If you feel your car is a lemon, you should contact an attorney with a lot of experience in this field such as Krohn & Moss, Ltd. You can contact them on their website.